Peace Sonnet Chain #8 : Harry Smart

They scream. We hear our voices raised
as in the singing of a Psalm: The Lord of Glory,
who is he? Ev’n that same Lord that great in might
and strong in battle is. 1 So the Scottish psalter says.

Men’s voices take deep descant on repeat,
And strong in battle is. A boast like Lamech’s: 2 
I saw a child, I took him down; one shot
was enough. So shall you deal with Amalek.

Prayers For Others: someone in the church
prays with embarrassment for ‘places where
… people face difficulties’. A forced march
through the killing fields, Rafah to Jabalia.

How after this to sing the songs of Zion; 3
to listen to the faithful pray, Kyrie eleison.

1 Psalm 24 in the Scottish Metrical Psalter.

2 Lamech said to his wives,

“Adah and Zillah, listen to me;
    wives of Lamech, hear my words.
I have killed a man for wounding me,
    a young man for injuring me.
   If Cain is avenged seven times,
    then Lamech seventy-seven times.”
Genesis 4, vv 23,24.

3 From Psalm 137. It ends with:
Happy is the one who seizes your infants
    and dashes them against the rocks.

Leave a comment