Neu! Post-Truth Poetics DAY FIFTY-FIVE – Rodney Wood

They Didn’t Care If I Died

they only took my money / possessions & starved my body / they didn’t kill me / they didn’t make me a slave
I was lucky / they only took my money / possessions & starved my body
I was lucky / they didn’t kill me / they didn’t make me a slave

the dinghy before mine was packed with 130 bodies before it sank / I only suffered hypothermia / broken bones & exhaust inhalation
I was lucky / the dinghy before mine was packed with 130 bodies before it sank
I was lucky / I only suffered hypothermia / broken bones & exhaust inhalation

but / I don’t want to talk about it
I was lucky / but
I was lucky / I don’t want to talk about it

the prison where I live patrolled by masked men with baseball bats / the people attack me with words / Molotov cocktails / rocks
I don’t want to talk about it / the prison where I live patrolled by masked men with baseball bats
I don’t want to talk about it /  the people attack me with words / Molotov cocktails / rocks

how they do with my body what they like / how they have taken everything I am / they humiliate / persecute / torture me every day because I’m a reffo
I don’t want to talk about it / how they do with my body what they like / how they have taken everything I am
I don’t want to talk about it / they humiliate / persecute / torture me every day because I’m a reffo

but / I don’t want to talk about it
I was lucky / but
I was lucky / I don’t want to talk about it

 

 

Rodney Wood is retired and lives in Farnborough. His work has appeared recently in Brittle Star, The Journal, Envoi, Message in a Bottle, International Times as well as the anthology The Poet‘s Quest for God.

 

Leave a Reply

