DAY ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY – Jack Little

What goes left unsaid

If you earn £18,600 a year your foreign spouse can live in UK
Headline in the Guardian, 11th of July, 2014 [1]

I left our island for better prospects
tasted sunshine, earned pesos, found love.

          Before I left
          I said nothing.

I convinced myself that I didn’t know
our island is a man-of-war anchored just to the north of France…

          Before I left
          I said nothing.

Our island is a would-be paradise
open to the few who have…

          Before I left
          I said nothing.

When a man had a heart attack on the metro
in front of me, I pretended to read my book.

          When I arrived,
          I said nothing.

That island is no longer mine,
I, a forever-guest

          What can I say now?

 

[1] www.theguardian.com/law/2014/jul/11/appeal-court-18600-foreign-spouse-uk

 

Jack Little (b. 1987) is a British poet and editor based in Mexico City. He has been published most recently in Wasafiri, Under the Radar and The Wolf. His first pamphlet Elsewhere was published by Eyewear in August 2015 and he is the founding editor of The Ofi Press.

Leave a Reply

