DAY ONE HUNDRED AND NINETEEN – Luke Wright

Lullaby

In half-heeled homes on terraced streets
the suburbs hum their hymns:
the charger buzz, the deadlock click,
the rumble of the wheelie bins.

I’m sorry love, it’s nothing much –
a carb and protein fix.
Remember how we used to eat
before the kids knocked us for six?

Then here again: the half-bought couch,
the supermarket wine,
the drip-drip-drip of Netflix fix,
the whittling of our brittle time.

A soggy packed lunch Friday waits
so keep me from the sack.
I won’t admit that this is it
but she’s got meetings back-to-back:

And so, to that familiar song:
Oh, you go up, I won’t be long.
The sad refrain to Big Ben’s bong –
Yes, you go up I won’t be long.

And now it’s Newsnight, Question Time,
I tell myself that things are fine
as callow SPADS, unreal like sims
all sing their grim familiar hymns

And this is what we’ll leave our kids:
the safety net in pieces,
the wolves well versed in double-baa
with tell-tale bloodstains down their fleeces.

What will I leave? Vented spleen?
Four-lettered verbal litter?
A spray of righteous leftist bile
at people just like me on Twitter?

So young, so young and yet so weary ,
thumbs like scatterguns.
Another day of useless ire.
Exhausted, I ignored my sons

I’ve never cast a selfish vote,
nor backed a winner yet
but here I sit in up-lit comfort,
am I really that upset?

I sing along to Britain’s song –
I pick my place among the throng
and sing their words so I belong –
Oh, you go up, I won’t be long.

But look around the towns and shires
at all these gleaming steel-glass spires
and retails parks and malls so dear
and tell me who is thriving here.

Not couples like us, cleaved in two
half gaga at this human zoo,
left empty while these liars thrive
and taught for our entire lives

when you put faith and hope
in something bigger than yourself
it lets you down, or spits you out,
so don’t you go expecting too much else.

 
 
 

Luke Wright is a poet and theatre maker. He has written and performed in 8 one man poetry shows, touring them all over the world. His debut collection Mondeo Man was published by Penned in the Margins in 2013 to critical acclaim. His play, What I Learned From Johnny Bevan, debuted at the Edinburgh Fringe 2015 earning Wright a Fringe First Award for writing and The Stage Award for Acting Excellence.

 

Leave a Reply

